Hughston Research & Education Leadership

The Foundation operates under the able leadership of Chairman Champ L. Baker, Jr., MD one of the most influential figures in sports medicine today.


Dr. Baker received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Louisiana State University. He completed his residency through Letterman Army Medical Center and Shriners Hospital for Crippled Children, and completed a sports medicine fellowship at Hughston Clinic before joining the staff in Columbus. He served as president of Hughston Clinic from 1994 until 2000. Certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, Dr. Baker holds memberships in many professional societies, including the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, former president of American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine; American Orthopaedic Association, International Society of Arthroscopy and Arthroscopy Association of North America.


Dr. Baker has been the team physician for numerous local and regional athletic teams, including the University of Alabama, and he is currently the team physician for Columbus State University. He has also served on the U.S. Olympic Committee as a volunteer physician. He has edited or co-edited several medical textbooks on topics from sports medicine to upper extremity injuries, and has published numerous scientific articles in orthopaedic journals.


Dr. Baker is the recipient of the Robert E. Leach, MD “Mr. Sports Medicine” Award, the George D. Rovere, MD Award, the Distinguished Southern Orthopaedist Award from the Southern Orthopaedic Association and the President’s Challenge Award from the National Athletic Trainers Association.


Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board
Chief Executive Officer

Member at Large
Member at Large

Ex Officio Member                                                               

Champ L. Baker, Jr., M.D.

Fred Flandry, M.D., FACS

Thomas N. Bernard, Jr., M.D.

Michael M. Tucker, Jr., M.D.

James E. McGrory, M.D. 

Mark Baker, PT

Fellowship Teaching Faculty 

Champ L. Baker, Jr., M.D. - Program Director                            

Fred Flandry, M.D., FACS

Patrick J. Fernicola, M.D.

Kurt E. Jacobson, M.D., FACS


Adjunct Faculty

Mark Baker, PT

Thomas N. Bernard, Jr., M.D.                                           

Clark Cobb, M.D.

Norman L. Donati, Jr., M.D.                                                        

Ryan M. Geringer, DO                                                                      

Andy Grubbs, M.Ed., ATC

Kim Hargrove, PT, MS, OCS

Eric Kuhlenberg, PT

James E. McGrory, M.D.

Ron Montgomery, DVM

Lyle A. Norwood, Jr., M.D.

David C. Rehak, M.D.

Michael M. Tucker, Jr., M.D.

Kevin Wise, Psy.D.

Champ L. Baker III, M.D.

J. Kenneth Burkus, M.D.

Kevin J. Collins, M.D.

John D. Dorchak, M.D.

Scott Gillogly, M.D.

Garland K. Gudger, M.D.

Robert F. Hopkins, PT, SCS

Nils Madsen, Ph.D.

Quinn Millington, PT, DPT, ECS, OSC, ATC

Linda Moore, OTR/L, CHT

Douglas W. Pahl, M.D.

John I. Waldrop, M.D.

Michael Zlatkin, M.D.